Chris Meyer: Composer - Orchestrator - Arranger - Pianist

Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Waterloo, Ontario

Journey Through Night

for String Quartet

This quartet musically depicts the journey from dusk, through night, and to dawn. The first movement, Paean at Dusk is a lively farewell to the light of day that gradually subsides to the gloom of night. The second movement is an introspective vigil as we console ourselves and endure the dark. The final movement begins with the mists of dawn and cracks of light peeking over the horizon, leading to a triumphant fanfare as the sun ascends in the sky.

Duration:12 min.
Instrumentation: 2 Vn, Vla, Vc
Composition Date:January 2019

Download the score
Listen to midi recordings: IIIIII